Allen W. Sill Founders Award

Established 2015

The Allen W. Sill Founders Award was created in 2015 to honor the vision and accomplishments of Chief Allen Sill (West Covina) and the original founders who created the California Police Chiefs Association in 1966. This award is designed to be presented for the first time at the 2016 Annual Training Symposium in honor of the Association’s 50th anniversary, and thereafter annually when a worthy recipient is identified.



• Any active or retired member of the Association who has served as a chief of police.
• May be presented posthumously to a member of recipient’s family.



Awarded to a member of the Association who has demonstrated a career of exemplary
service to the law enforcement profession based on a combination of the following:
  • Has made positive and noteworthy contributions to the employing agency, community and the profession.
  • Has participated in Association activities and exemplified the core values and traditions of the Association.
  • Has demonstrated strong leadership characteristics with a proven record of professional accomplishments.


Nominations can be made by any current member of the Associations board of directors.
The nomination shall be presented to the Association’s Executive Director along with
supportive material as well as concurrence of at least two other members of the board
of directors, no later than November 1st of each calendar year.


Selection and Presentation

The Executive Director will verify the nominee’s qualifications and present the nomination to the Executive Committee which will make the final decision. The selection will remain confidential until presented by the outgoing president at the Association’s annual training symposium.

Previous Recipients

Year Award Recipient Department Award Presenter
2020 Corey Sianez Buena Park PD President Lawrence
2019 Deborah Linden San Luis Obispo PD (Ret.) President Swing
2018 Peter Dunbar Pleasant Hill PD (Ret.) President Medrano
2017 Salvatore Rosano Santa Rosa PD (Ret.) President Corney
2016 Allen W. Sill West Covina PD (Ret.) President Bejarano